Samsung Announces 2013 Ho-Am Prize Winners

Ho-AmToday, we would like to announce the recipients of the 2013 Ho-Am Prize, awarded every year by Samsung to individuals who have contributed to enhancing the welfare of humanity through distinguished accomplishments in their professional fields.

Before that, we would also like to let you know that we have established Ho-Am Forum aimed at providing opportunities of scientific cross-fertilization among domestic experts, Ho-Am Prize laureats and global scholars. Next month in Seoul, the forum will meet on the subjects of “Virus and Cancer” and “Nano,” with presentations by Dr. Harald zur Hausen (’08 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine) and Dr. Dan Schechtman (’11 Nobel Prize in Chemistry), respectively.

And now, without further ado, please meet the 2013 Ho-Am Prize winners!


과학상_황윤성Prof. Harold Y. Hwang, Stanford University

Prize in Science

Prof. Hwang is a highly renowned scientist in the field of applied physics. He has pioneered a new field of correlated-electron science in metal-oxide interfaces, and he is expected to continue to pioneer major contributions in the field for many years to come, with the prospect of creating a new generation of interfacial structure based on transition-metal oxides and related compounds.


공학상_김상태Distinguished Prof. Sangtae Kim, Purdue University

Prize in Engineering

Prof. Kim is a global leader in microfluidics research and development. He developed a new mathematical models for pharmaceutical information and contributed to the development of the fluidic self-assembly processes which has enabled ultra low-cost manufacturing of radio frequency identification (RFID) tags.


의학상_이세진Prof. Se-Jin Lee, Johns Hopkins University

Prize in Medicine

Prof. Lee is a leading expert in molecular cell biology. He discovered myostatin, a member of the TGF-beta-β superfamily. Currently, his major endeavors include an attempt to maximize utilization of the biological properties of myostatin to develop novel therapeutic strategies for treating patients with muscle degeneration and related wasting conditions.


예술상_신경숙Kyung-sook Shin, Novelist

Prize in The Arts

Shin is a highly prominent novelist who has been setting new trends in literature. She has been popularly lauded for a variety of published works and particularly for the world bestseller “Please Look After Mom,” which has been translated into more than 30 languages. Novelist Shin’s works since her debut in 1985 have featured a certain high elegance of sentiment and distinctively ingenious style that have greatly elevated the status of contemporary Korean literature worldwide.


사회봉사상_이종만,김현숙Director Chong Man Rhee and social worker Hyun-sook Kim, Only Grace Social Welfare Foundation

Prize in Community Service

Rhee and Kim are highly regarded for their contribution to the advancement of the rights and welfare of the disabled. They established a social welfare community for the visually impaired in 1981, and have since then worked tirelessly to improve the lives of the disabled based on the belief that such people can be equally viable contributors to society through proper vocational training and employment.


The Ho-Am Prize presentation ceremony will be held on May 31 in Seoul. Each recipient will be awarded a diploma, a medal and the prize money of 300 million won. The recipients are also scheduled to hold commemorative lectures at major universities, academies and high schools across the nation.

The Ho-Am Prize was established in 1990 by Chairman Kun-Hee Lee, with a vision to create a new corporate culture that continues the noble spirit of public service espoused by the late founding Chairman Byung-Chull Lee.  Including this year’s recipients, a total 177 people have been awarded.